Help

Daily 5

Daily 5 without choice

>

MrsWok

Daily 5 without choice
Old 06-27-2015, 04:05 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Are any of you too much of a control freak to allow choice in the daily five? I'm a new teacher and I tried to allow choice in my first classroom and they were out of control the whole year. I know I didn't implement it correctly and that was my fault due to just lack of experience. I'm planning for next year and considering doing the rotations but assigning them their rotations. Is this a terrible idea? I just want more control over them this year.

MrsWok is offline   Reply With Quote

Lakeside

Old 06-27-2015, 04:13 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Not a terrible idea at all! I've subbed in several classroom where the rotation was set. They had their choice of books when they got to read to self and read to someone, and it was fine.
Lakeside is offline   Reply With Quote

Munchkins

Maybe controlled choices?
Old 06-27-2015, 04:18 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have to follow the reading and writing workshop models, so I can't do Daily 5. But when I do word study centers, I give them 2 of my choices. Would something like that work? Assign them, but give a choice within the center. For example, for read to self, they can read at their desk or pick a smart spot in the room. For writing, they could write a book review or a summary. For word work, choose a word work activity.

I am a control freak, too, but found the buy-in is better if the have some choice. Good luck!
Munchkins is offline   Reply With Quote

Gromit

Old 06-27-2015, 06:07 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I've never given rotation choices that I can remember. I don't even remember that being a requirement of D5. If it is, I missed it.

I do like a PP and give choices within boundaries. I do that with everything, though.
Gromit is offline   Reply With Quote

yellowdaisies

Choice
Old 06-27-2015, 07:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5