Paraprofessionals

Need advice PLZ

>

sea2002

Need advice PLZ
Old 05-02-2016, 04:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello everyone,

This is my first year as a para and today I had a student ask me what an orgasm is. At first I told her that it is not appropriate to be talking about. The class had a substitute and this particular sub does not control her classes. Other students started chiming in on what they thought it was. Finally, I told the girl to come over to where I was sitting and told her a little bit of what one might do to get an orgasm. She went back and told the two girls she was sitting with but I told them to not say I said anything to anyone. I am concerned they might say something to there parents.

Could I get fired for this, even if I deny saying anything to her?The girl is 13 years old and she heard from another girl at school that she had, had an orgasm so she was curious what it was.

sea2002 is offline   Reply With Quote

twin2

Oh no
Old 05-03-2016, 06:41 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

That is a tough one. It would depend on just what you told her and if you admit saying it. Right now it seems it is your word against theirs. Is what you told her covered in their health classes? If so, you might you not get into trouble based on that, assuming they don't think the issue should only be discussed in health class. Wow. Please let us know how this plays out.

Last edited by twin2; 05-03-2016 at 02:43 PM..
twin2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Tawaki

For next time..
Old 05-03-2016, 07:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have elementary children ask all sorts of sexual stuff, and with the peanut gallery chiming in...

I say, oh that is a good question to ask someone at home.

And for charmers that don't shut up..

If you have time gab about such things, you must be all done with your work (or whatever).

I don't say it's wrong or a poor question, I punt it back to home. You have no clue how much the parents want the child to know or religious views, whatever.