Help

Career Decisions

I can't afford to stay in teaching

>

mrteacherguy

I can't afford to stay in teaching
Old 09-29-2019, 05:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm in my seventh year as a teacher, and I'm strongly considering about applying for jobs outside of teaching.

Partly because in the short time that I've been a teacher, I've been on the receiving end of way too much disrespect from students and parents alike; and the districts themselves don't seem to be doing much to support us when it comes to treating us like professionals or paying us appropriately. Which leads me to my second reason for considering getting out: my wife and I can't afford to support our family.

I was running the numbers, and even assuming I had no debt other than my student loans, I couldn't afford to support myself as a single person on my current salary. The cost of living is just too blasted high. That's to say nothing of the high deductible health insurance plans that are the only ones the local districts are offering.

I wish I didn't have to do this, but with the work itself losing its luster and the financial stress that comes with it, it just doesn't seem worth it anymore.

mrteacherguy is offline   Reply With Quote

K12ENLTeacher

Not Alone...
Old 10-02-2019, 02:00 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2