Help

Special Education

Gen ed teachers (sorry, long post)

>

newbie17

Gen ed teachers (sorry, long post)
Old 11-08-2019, 09:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Is anyone else having major problems with gen ed teachers? I'm a resource teacher that teaches three grades and only one subject for the first time. My other years in resource I have taught both math and literacy for just one grade level, so there have been some changes this year.

In years past my teachers have always come to me with questions or worries and I've always done my best to help them. I have always tried to support them and have told our admins that we need to do more to support the gen ed teachers. This year they aren't communicating with any of us resource teachers, rather they are going to the P or sped supervisor or their admin friends at the admin office. I'm at a loss!

Just last week I had gen ed teacher telling me we needed to start serving a child so we don't get in trouble. It had been 3 days since the meeting and the child was not going to attend the subject in question due to a class party, an assembly and a field trip, plus we have 30 days to implement an IEP. I told her we were working on scheduling (every teacher we have is maxed out so scheduling is insane) and to send the child during the only time I knew his sped teacher would have any space as a short term solution. I also told her to keep in mind that it could change once we had schedules rearranged to accommodate the student. Well this made her mad and instead of just saying that she had a problem with my solution she went to the P...who supported me 100% because there is literally no space in anyone's schedule at the moment. This of course did not please the gen ed teacher.