Help

ESL/LEP

Expectations

>

RaceFan18

Expectations
Old 11-19-2013, 06:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

As an ESL teacher, I work with many kids who are below grade level. I think this has caused me to lower my expectations. I think that instead of pulling them up, I meet them where they are and work there. I didn't mean for this to happen, but in the last few weeks I realized that it has! I want to change this and expect more of the kids and help them achieve more! When I look over the common core curriculum, I know they are expected to do much more than I have ever asked of them in ESL class! I want to see all my kids, even those below grade level, as capable achievers and design my lesson plans accordingly!!
Any one else experience this and/or have ideas for how to change??
Thanks!

RaceFan18 is offline   Reply With Quote

CAtchr

higher expectations
Old 11-20-2013, 02:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I work with a large population of ELL students (not ESL because they are coming to me with almost no language) and they too are a lot lower that what they should be. I find that I start with a high expectation and task and make them aware of the end product then after starting there we will back track a little and lower expectations knowing that we will work our way back up that way they do not get to frustrated but also know they are lower and need to work harder.

I must say some days this works great and others ( also depenedent on the students attitudes) it doesnt work at all.

good luck and I hope this helps give you at least one idea to try...
CAtchr is offline   Reply With Quote

lovmyterch

Old 12-14-2013, 07:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

What ages do you work with? I work with K-8 students - my non-newcomers in the middle school grades go to reading intervention but read many grade levels below target. I'm assuming your students are similar. It's really hard to maintain high expectations when a book called "Sleepy Cat Time" is "just right" for a 12 y/o.