Help

ESL/LEP

Languages

>

daisyflower

Languages
Old 02-22-2014, 03:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

How many languages are represented in your ESL groups and in your school district? I'm curious because I'm currently only working with Spanish speaking/English Learning students. In the past, I've worked with students with a wide variety of home languages. It's a different environment and different expectations. Please share your experiences.

daisyflower is offline   Reply With Quote

scarlettsweb

Old 02-22-2014, 04:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I actually went to Elementary - High School in the district I am now a first year teacher in. I was an ESL student myself. Our school district is one of the most diverse. Virtually every culture in the modern world is represented and more than 80 languages and dialects are spoken.
scarlettsweb is offline   Reply With Quote

grav_def

Old 02-22-2014, 05:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I think my school districts has around 100 languages represented. Off the top of my head, I have students who speak:

Vietnamese, Spanish (yes, in that order), Nepali, Dutch, Kirundi, Tigrinya (these last two are spoken in Burundi and Eritrea, respectively), an indigenous Guatemalan language whose name I can never remember , Arabic, Japanese, Turkish. Pretty sure I'm forgetting some. Oh, and my school has a Russian family and a Serbian (I think? Around there somewhere...) family, but all of those kids tested out of ESL before I got there.

Parent communication can be interesting, as you can imagine...
grav_def is offline   Reply With Quote

daisyflower

Old 02-22-2014, 07:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I am so glad to hear that!
Do you still get asked if you know how to speak Spanish? Or the comment, "Oh you must know Spanish then." I'm honestly sick of that question/comment. I loved being able to say, well, I have students from India, Russia, The Ukraine, China, Africa, and other places, so speaking Spanish would really be of no benefit.