Aquarium question - ProTeacher Community




      
Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help


      Teachers' Lounge


Aquarium question

>

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Daphne333 Daphne333 is offline
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,023
Senior Member

Daphne333
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,023
Senior Member
Aquarium question
Old 03-22-2013, 05:45 PM
  #1

I was trying to get my filter to work in a new aquarium and I didn't even think about the cup I used being washed in dish soap the day before. I did several scoops of water in the aquarium and poured it back in. Is that going to hurt my pH level?

I used spring water and right now I'm waiting on the temp to rise before I get the African Dwarf Frogs. I don't want to hurt the critters before they even get a chance to make it to my classroom.


Daphne333 is offline   Reply With Quote

teacherman's Avatar
teacherman teacherman is offline
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 274
Full Member

teacherman
 
teacherman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 274
Full Member

Old 03-22-2013, 06:16 PM
  #2

I would think the frogs will be fine. I assume the cup was rinsed thoroughly after being washed, so any residual dish soap should have been rinsed off then.

How old is the water? I don't know your water system, but if you get "city" water that is commercially treated you will want the water to sit a few days before putting the frogs in. This allows many of the chemicals put into our water to burn off.
teacherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Daphne333 Daphne333 is offline
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,023
Senior Member

Daphne333
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,023
Senior Member
Water
Old 03-22-2013, 07:10 PM
  #3

I bought spring water. The pet store employee suggested to just use that since its a smaller aquarium. Should I wait until Saturday to get the frogs, just in case?
Daphne333 is offline   Reply With Quote
nogginhead's Avatar
nogginhead nogginhead is offline
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 344
Full Member

nogginhead
 
nogginhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 344
Full Member
Not sure
Old 03-22-2013, 10:03 PM
  #4

I'm not sure but you can get strips to test the pH. Good luck!
nogginhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Teddi9192's Avatar
Teddi9192 Teddi9192 is offline
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,015
Senior Member

Teddi9192
 
Teddi9192's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 6,015
Senior Member

Old 03-23-2013, 03:34 AM
  #5

I have 5 of the frogs. The are pretty resilient. I have had them for 5 years. They are in a 40 gallon tank (that's what I had) with aregular filter and they are fine. My DH started adding water and didn't realize I treat it with the anti chlorine stuff. He probably added 5-10 gallons and they did fine.


Teddi9192 is offline   Reply With Quote

Join the conversation! Post as a guest or become a member today. New members welcome!

Reply

 

>
Teachers' Lounge
Thread Tools




Sign Up Now

Sign Up FREE | ProTeacher Help | BusyBoard

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:50 AM.

Copyright © 2019 ProTeacher®
For individual use only. Do not copy, reproduce or transmit.
source: www.proteacher.net
4