User Name forgot?
Password

Readin' + Writin' + 'Rithmetic + So Much More

Where Would We Be If We Were Not Teaching?

>

J.Elaine

Where Would We Be If We Were Not Teaching?
Old 08-28-2006, 06:15 PM

Today, I looked at my students as they were leaving and couldn't help thinking how truly I blessed I am to be doing a job I love. When I decided to go to college (after many years of staying home with my children and even my grandchildren!), I felt a little foolish. Many people encouraged me, but some people told me I was just a little too old and had been out of school just a little too long to expect anything other than failure from my efforts to follow a dream I'd had since childhood. But, I plunged on ahead. It was hard because I was just a little too old and had been out of school just a little too long, but guess what? I did not fail! I am a teacher today because I didn't let those few stop me from daring to believe I could achieve!

Now, the question is: Where would I be today if I'd not become a teacher?

In the thirteen years I've been teaching, I experienced a dreadful, life-changing event in my personal life. The most difficult thing I've ever had to face was the death of my son. He died in a hunting accident -- alive one minute and gone the next. It happened in my fifth year of teaching and in my second year with my first looping students. The love and support of those wonderful children and their caring parents made my life bearable. I leeched off the energy of my students. I lived to teach them. I found my purpose in serving them. Where would I be if it were not for teaching? I thank God I'll never have to know the answer to that question.