Password

Readin' + Writin' + 'Rithmetic + So Much More

Daily 5/CAFE Success!

>

J.Elaine

Daily 5/CAFE Success!
Old 02-12-2010, 05:24 PM

In the Beginning:
Last summer a group of teachers in our school started a Daily 5 study group, and I've spent many hours gleaning tons of information, recommendations, and advice from experts here on ProTeacher. I frequented the Peony Room where I learned about The CAFE Book which I bought and studied along with The Daily 5.

Recently I joined the Daily 5 and CAFE Group and the Upper Elementary Daily 5/CAFE Group. I'm like a sponge soaking up everything I can to help me implement D5/CAFE with my 5th grade students. It's been quite a journey since August -- adjusting D5/CAFE to meet the unique needs of 5th graders (adjusting to my teaching style as well!).

As a looping teacher, I had these same students in 4th grade. I knew they'd be a great group to "practice" on, but I also knew they'd be honest with me if they didn't like the changes I was making. We -- teacher and students -- have had a great time experimenting with the components of Daily 5 and the strategies of CAFE.

Last week I administered the spring round of DRA's with 15 of my students. Today, I worked with a group of teachers and our Literacy coach to score our assessments. It was so exciting to see how much my students had improved! They all went up at least one level in fluency and almost all passed comprehension at an independent level! Iespecially appreciate the fact that other teachers, our coach, and I graded together. Knowing that a team agreed on the scoring helped me know my emotions did not play a part in the outcomes. It was a happy day!!!!

In the End:
Here's my question: Do I think Daily 5/CAFE made the difference with my students?
Here's my answer: I don't know!