What words do you use for spelling tests? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

First Grade

What words do you use for spelling tests?

>

rougher72

What words do you use for spelling tests?
Old 10-22-2011, 07:37 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year in first grade, previous years I have been in Kindergarten. This entire year I have been using the words that go along with my curriculum Harcourt Story Town. I found out that the other two first grade teachers use some of those words and add to them to make word families. What do you all do? Use word families?, use lists already made? make up your own? Thanks for the help!

rougher72 is offline   Reply With Quote

jov

Phonics and Spelling
Old 10-22-2011, 08:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I send home a word bank of all possible words with the phonics skill of the week. I only include words with blends, digraphs, silent-e, etc. if those skills have already been introduced. Then I choose 10 words from the word bank for the spelling test. This really forces kids and parents to focus on the phonics skill, rather than just memorizing words. For example, last week was short-o week with 34 possible words, which included CVC and VC words, as well as -ock words because we've already studied -ck.

I also give 5 sight words each week. The first few weeks included the easiest Dolch words. Now that the words are getting more difficult, I send home 3 new words plus the 2 most difficult words from the previous week. Many Dolch words are addressed in the phonics portion of our spelling program (will, best, came, etc.), so they wouldn't be included here.

I use my district's phonics word banks and schedule of what to introduce each week. I add words to my district's weekly sight word plan.
jov is offline   Reply With Quote

multigrade

Old 10-22-2011, 09:18 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3