Teachers' Lounge

Whoops...I made a young sub?future teacher mad

>

Suspended

janeypoo

Suspended
Whoops...I made a young sub?future teacher mad
Old 02-09-2013, 09:58 PM

I made a girl on FB mad and I didn't mean to. She is a sub in our district and she added me because she said she heard good things about me and wanted to have teachers as friends for future contacts and networking.

Her status update today was "I am so tired of taking Sh*t from all these teachers . I can't wait until I am a teacher because their jobs are so much easier than being a sub. "

My response was:"While I find teaching to be the harder of the two personally, I have found that subbing was such a valuable experience. Every day of stress and struggle will make you a better teacher . I learned more from subbing than I ever did from student teaching and it really helped me to learn the age levels I was best suited for . I always wanted to teach first grade...until I subbed! It was an amazing experience. Ignore the negative people...they will still be there. Just be the best you can be." She is young (23) and always updates about work stress and stuff so I thought this might be an encouraging response.

Then her sister resonded "I don't know who that chick thinks she is but you better tell her subbing Ain't at all easy"

Me: Oh I know it is not easy. I don't think there is an easy job in education at all. They both have their ups and downs. I tend to get more stressed out by the politics...IEPS, AYP, BIPS, parental complaints, working weekends, documentation, grading and long hours. Subbing has tougher managmenet and sometimes no support. It can be different on different days and years. I was just talking about my personal experiences. To me, teaching is harder because there is more of what stresses me out involved.