Help

The VENT

Frustrated as a new special ed teacher

>

musicmeg222

Frustrated as a new special ed teacher
Old 04-04-2019, 11:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a new special ed teacher and am just finishing my third week teaching 6th grade at a middle school. I took over for a teacher who had to leave in the middle of the year. I don't want to complain too much during this post, but I really don't know what to do.

I do have a new teacher mentor, but she is helping out new teachers at 15 different schools. Seems to me like the district needs to find more mentors. I meet with her once weekly, but this week was unable to since I wasn't at my school campus - I had a training that day. I contacted her to let her know I need help with IEP writing and lesson planning. She told me to ask one of the other special ed teachers at the school. We normally have a class period where the 6th, 7th, and 8th grade special ed teachers meet together to discuss IEP meetings or other various information. Yesterday during our weekly staff meeting, the principal cancelled our class periods where we meet with other teachers until the middle of April. We need to use this time for planning instead. It's difficult for me to meet with the other special ed teacher to ask about her lesson plans since we don't have the same planning period. I was also just informed that lesson plans are due every Monday morning by 8am. There is a format that we need to follow and it needs to be completed and submitted by 8am. I'm not even sure how to decide what I want to teach, have no idea how to find the state standards we should be following, or even completing this lesson plan form that needs to be submitted.