Help

Intermediate Grades (3-5)

Implementing reading workshop

>

Bearworld

Implementing reading workshop
Old 08-27-2011, 08:11 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I will be starting reading workshop for the first time this year in a 5th grade classroom and am a little confused about the book selection. I am a first year teacher and my library is pretty small with books that I just gathered over the summer. I like the idea of writing letters back and forth with the students about the book they are reading, but am a little confused on how I will respond to them if I never read the book. Do I start out with books that I have read before? Even after that if they choose a book I have never read from a public library, how would I discuss the book with them through the notebook?

Thanks

Bearworld is offline   Reply With Quote

BRONX

responding to independent reading
Old 08-27-2011, 08:24 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It is the hardest part of the workshop. Many teachers in my building complain because they can't possibly read every book. I do not respond in writing to the kids, I conference with them one on one. I focus on having them make connections to the characters because I can wing that. I also try to focus on the skill for that week and have the kids place a post it in the text to keep track of their thinking. This helps me have a focus and the actual text isn't as important to me.

If I am really worried about a child fudging it I use a site called good reads. People review books but there is always a little blurb about the text.

It is tough with a book or series you know nothing about, but in my opinion it is still valuable.
BRONX is offline   Reply With Quote

Shemesh

Old 08-27-2011, 10:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I look up the book on Amazon and read the reviews to catch up on a book I haven't read.
As long as the kids know how to decsribe the characters, setting, etc. properly and thoughtfuly i'm usually ok
Shemesh is offline   Reply With Quote

trexteach