Help

The VENT

So tired about hearing about not being CPI trained

>

snazzyjazzy

So tired about hearing about not being CPI trained
Old 11-11-2019, 03:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a substitute teacher in a district that I love and I sub a lot for Special Education. I am able to deesculate children quickly but cannot receive the CPI training (restraint training) because I am not a full time employee. I am totally okay with this. I have a really good relationship with all of the SPED students with challenging behaviors. Most of the teachers (both sped and gen ed ask for my help when students are being challenging). The principal and assistant principals even have commented on how good I am at deesculating students.

There is a teacher and a para who have reminded me multiple times that I am not CPI trained and should let them handle it. I step back but it is very irritating. For example, today at the end of the day, both the teacher and the para were in the room I was subbing in (they were waiting on the final SPED bus) when I went back in after duty. When it was time to leave, one of the students gets upset and drops to the floor. I tell him that I need him to stand up before I get to 3, I start counting and he is up by 2. He reaches for my hand and I take it, the para tells me that I can't hold his hand because I am not CPI trained. The child drops to the floor again and I step back and wait for one of them to handle it, they finally do after about 3 minutes but he is screaming all the way down the hallway. I wanted to tell them that holding a child's hand does not require CPI training and could have avoided him getting upset.

snazzyjazzy is online now   Reply With Quote

broomrider

good grief
Old 11-11-2019, 08:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

holding a student's hand (especially when the child initiates) is not a restraint. That's just a very odd statement. And creates more of a problem for the para and teacher, which they apparently learned the hard way.