Help

The VENT

Not having teacher friends is hard

>

PeaceLoveRun

Not having teacher friends is hard
Old 11-12-2019, 07:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm struggling this year. I'm a veteran teacher, almost 20 years experience. I'm new to a district this year and these are some of the things I'm dealing with that I'm pulling my hair out over:

I was told I could teach my own things as long as they followed the standards as a grade level. I chose to do a different writing activity and principal came in for a surprise visit and then sent me a long email asking me to valid my reasoning behind why I was doing a different activity for writing and to explain how it met all the same standards as the others. I emailed and explained and she never brought it up again. But then my LST comes in and asks me to do the same thing for her. Then she observes my writing so she can report back to principal, then she gives me tips. Now I have to leave my class tomorrow for an hour to observe a 3rd year teacher and how she uses academic discourse in the classroom (having students stand to answer questions in complete sentences during lessons).

I had my formal evaluation. Principal set up a meeting afterwards, that she failed to show up for. I have yet to hear anything about it.

I had to observe guided reading. Even though I've taught Guided Reading.

My lead teacher in my team saves everthing for the last minute, including report cards, which I neede d guidance on because I'm new to the district. I spent 10 hours over the 3 day weekend trying to get them done.

Another thing that we have put off is our Christmas song for the program. I suggested a song and the other team teacher liked it but our lead teacher did not. So instead of choosing a different song, she is requesting help from the LST in picking a song. I'm not sure why we can't choose our own song for Kindergarten Christmas program.