Help

ESL/LEP

Does anyone have a "newcomer class"?

>

alieliza

Does anyone have a "newcomer class"?
Old 12-15-2008, 04:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am an ESL teacher in an elementary school. I work with English Language Learners from around the world. Each year I work with 50-65 children, with their abilities in English ranging from having just arrived in the country and do not speak a word of English, to having been born here and are in ESL for their 6th year (this is less common, but many children get sort of "stuck" for various reasons, sometimes language related, sometimes testing/reading related).

My *favorite* kind of students are the newly arrived children.

My assistant principal is thinking of starting a "newcomer academy" for newly arrived students. Shes considering have it be 3 months to 1 year, depending on what we can make happen, in order to give them a place where they can feel comfortable, learn quickly through a good blend of ESL and content instruction all day long, and through a specialized curriculum, such as thematic units with real life experiences, such as neighborhood walks to acquaint them with the community, as well as good, hands on, meaningful activities to make learning dynamic etc. I would also love to have a strong parent component.

I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to teach this class, for so many reasons. I love newcomers, I love teaching English to children who desperately need it, I love teaching in themes, I would have my own classroom, which I don't now, I could do really great things if I only had to focus on 15 children, as opposed to 50, and it would just all around be wonderful for me.

Does anyone have this kind of a class in their school?
How does it work out?
I bet it takes a lot of pressure off of the other classroom teachers.
Do you know whether the teacher likes the arrangement?

If you have a class like this please share with me!

alieliza is offline   Reply With Quote

LilMissSEI

Newcomer Class
Old 12-17-2008, 06:18 PM