Help

Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

2.5 - 3.5 yr old class, need advice?

>

Funbee

2.5 - 3.5 yr old class, need advice?
Old 02-08-2009, 05:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

HI EVERYONE, I am a preschool teacher at a daycare center, so 8 hours a day..... I just moved from 4 yr old class to this one at a new center, and the age is younger., however all are potty trained...

I am thrown off because some of these kids kick, scream, throw fits, and scream NO!!!! in my face. With 18 kids ( with an aid ) and half of them doing this, its just crazy. In my old center, that behavior would not be tolerated and child would go to office , but those children were also a little older. I have children of my own, but none of them ever kicked me, hit me, or screamed NO in my face ......... much less to anyone else in their life !!

We had some kids that misbehaved every day at my other center, but they were manageable with rewards, time outs, ect. The kids in my new class, if need to be removed from a situation, just say NO and refuse to move. Or refuse to look at you. When you move them yourself, you get kicked or hissed at and have to listen to them screaming while you try to do circle time...

I tried giving helping roles but the kids all want to be IT, and cry and push if they cant, and dont understand next time or next week.......
any advice ???

I'm sure in the next couple weeks I'll figure it out...

Funbee is offline   Reply With Quote

vic

Old 02-08-2009, 05:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2