Fifth Grade

5th Grade Behavior Problems

>

newteach726

5th Grade Behavior Problems
Old 04-23-2010, 03:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi,

I am a new 5th grade teacher and my class is getting more and more out of control. At times, they are very well-behaved. Other times, they are rowdy and some show off and call out. I incorporate lots of engaging activities, but I used to be a lot stricter as a teacher. I think, as the year goes on, I've loosened up a bit just because I'm tired and probably a bit burnt out.

Today, I had a parent come in who teaches an art lesson once a month and the kids were saying things to each other across the room, to show off. I still have a month or so less and I do not want things to fall apart.

Any suggestions? THANK YOU

newteach726 is offline   Reply With Quote

gunther922

This is a tough time of year. A couple of
Old 04-23-2010, 05:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

suggestions that I do: For whole class behavior I have a large thermometer at the front of the class. The students earn "degrees" by listening, not calling out, walking quietly in the hall, having their materials ready, etc. I always preface every lesson with a reminder of how they can earn degrees. I have been doing that for many years and I find it works very well. Once they reach 100 degrees they have earned 20 min. of free choice time on Friday. I have a list of choice time activities posted. Sometimes it takes the class 3-4 weeks to earn their reward, other times it may only take 2 weeks. The key is to not have it take too long for them to earn their free time.