Taking Over 5th Grade Science with 50 days left! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Fifth Grade

Taking Over 5th Grade Science with 50 days left!

>

PinkToolbelt

Taking Over 5th Grade Science with 50 days left!
Old 03-27-2011, 03:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I've been a Kindergarten teacher for 13 years, Nationally Board Certified for 8, but I've been out of the classroom for 2 years due to circumstances out of my control (family emergency/move). Anyway, I've decided to take on a 5th Grade Science class at a VERY low performing rural school after their Teach For America teacher didn't return after Christmas break. I just feel so bad for them!
I'll be teaching 3 classes of science each day. Since they've finished all their 'units' of study and the Science EOG is looming, they want me to begin 'intensive test prep strategies'. I have asked for at least a few days to get to know the children, create OUR rules together, and set MY routines and procedures into place. However, I'm not even sure what my routines and procedures should be in 5th grade (and this late in the game)! I'm fully aware of the importance of getting to know the learner before I can teach him/her anything, but I'll definitely need to 'fast track' so we can get to business. Also, I've been told I'll need to be loving but firm to keep behaviors under control. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I definitely know I want to do some type of glyph as one of our getting to know you activities. Any ideas for that?
I'm sure I'll be back with Science EOG questions, but for now I just need to get ready for them.

PinkToolbelt is offline   Reply With Quote

parker

Well
Old 03-27-2011, 03:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2