Help

Kindergarten

"Grading" and gradebooks in Kdg

>

NYteacherNmom

"Grading" and gradebooks in Kdg
Old 08-02-2011, 05:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Ok, so this is my first year in Kdg after 8 years in between 3-4-5... so forgive me if this is a silly question, but I feel like I am a new teacher again!

How is your gradebook set up for kindergarten? Do you even have one? What do you actually grade, if anything? I know its not like I will take every task they do and put a percentage on it, so how does this actually work? I am thinking more rubric based for a few items throughout the year, but honestly I have no clue.

How then, do you have your gradebook set up?

I'm at a loss here, so I appreciate any insight!

NYteacherNmom is offline   Reply With Quote

KTeach_IN

No gradebook
Old 08-02-2011, 05:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I do not have a gradebook. I have checklists of skills. Letters, sounds, numbers, shapes, sight words, other skills that are on our report card.
KTeach_IN is offline   Reply With Quote

whteacher

Old 08-02-2011, 06:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

No grade book for me either. I bet you are kinda happy about that!!!

Assessment checklists are done at certain times of the year (before conferences with parents, before progress reports).
whteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

vacation

Class list and checklist
Old 08-02-2011, 06:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Yes, no grade books anymore. I spent many years in intermediate before coming down to K. I do have an assessment binder though and it is very thick. I also have a class list and down each column it may have uppercase lettters, lowercase letters, sounds, sight words. I have one similar for math with the learning outcomes that I teach.
vacation is offline   Reply With Quote

pianowoman41

Ours is just for marking attendance.
Old 08-03-2011, 05:37 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5