Help

Kindergarten

"jealous boyfriend" syndrome

>

Tmteach00

"jealous boyfriend" syndrome
Old 09-18-2011, 05:20 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year teaching K. I have a child in my classroom who has behavior issues. At times, he's like a jealous boyfriend! He doesn't want me to call on other students, wants to do all the jobs for me in the classroom, etc, etc. He also has a very short attention span. Circle time is very difficult. If i don't call on him, he resorts to a crying fit, will crawl under the table or will get up and go hide in the corner. I try my best to ignore him, not to give into him. But I don't want the other children to think this is ok, and start imitating his behaviors.

I do have the stop light system in my room. If I move his card, he starts screaming and yelling, blah, blah, blah. He has no problem telling me NO!

Any suggestions? I am just at a loss. I feel like all my energy is concentrated on managing his behaviors, and not paying full attention to the rest of my class. Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated!

Tmteach00 is offline   Reply With Quote

pianowoman41

Have you tried doing something really fun
Old 09-18-2011, 06:36 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2