Help

Substitute Teachers

Struggling to find jobs

>

cenWApara

Struggling to find jobs
Old 04-09-2018, 09:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi guys, I'm a new user here. I currently work as a substitute paraeducator in the Yakima Valley (central Washington) and am on the sub lists for two different school districts. I was on a third district's sub list but ended up getting fired (and I'll tell why in a bit). I'm currently in college studying to become an elementary teacher (trying to get a Bachelor's Degree in Elem Ed. K-8). This is going to be a long post, but bear with me:

Throughout this school year I've had a whopping THREE jobs, in one of the two districts. Two at the same elementary (for the same learning-assistance para) and another at the middle school where I mainly just watched students do i-Ready math intervention on their Chromebooks and helped out as needed. I know the para's in this district have a preferred list for their substitutes, and I'm a first-year substitute unfortunately. Jobulator did not ring throughout the entire week before spring break (which was conference week no less, did any paras take an early vacation? Who knows, I can't see them!) And no jobs this morning, the first day back from spring break. This district has six elementary schools. There are six computer lab paras, six library paras, and a couple dozen LAP paras.

95% of the time when Jobulator rings it's always either a one-on-one SpEd position or a self-contained SpEd position that needs help. At this time I don't feel comfortable with taking those jobs, I don't have enough experience in that sector yet. And who knows if the student has high-functioning autism, or is violent, nonverbal, screams and hits people? AESOP doesn't list what kid I work with and his schedule...which would be of great help to me.

The second school district has only called once since the beginning of the year. This is a smaller district with an elementary, intermediate, middle and high school.