How do I handle my son's teacher / colleague? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Fourth Grade

How do I handle my son's teacher / colleague?

>

Cargle

How do I handle my son's teacher / colleague?
Old 03-30-2011, 08:35 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi,

My son is in grade 4 in a school where I sub. His teacher and I get along well as she is very likeable. However, as a 'mom' and being a teacher I find it difficult to raise some of the issues I have where my son's education is concerned.

Ok, here is goes....

She does not correct the students school work or homework. When homework and such comes home there is no evidence that she has even looked at it. This has been like this since November. She took over for a maternity leave. I have not said anything until I merely had enough. This was 3 weeks ago. I wrote a note to her, and tried being as diplomatic as I could, asking her to please correct his work so he is aware of what he needs to improve on as well as knowing and understanding the class expectations for his school work. A note returned asking "which work". I felt like saying ALL OF IT but I didn't. Instead I chose 2 of the core subjects - math and L.A. She corrected one page.