anonymouse

Steven Colbert on the common core
Old 04-12-2014, 11:57 AM

http://cnsnews.com/mrctv-blog/barbar...mmon-core-math

anonymouse is offline   Reply With Quote

Peaches Pears

Old 04-12-2014, 12:09 PM

Thanks for sharing. Pretty funny.
I am Canadian but some things transcend international borders.
Peaches Pears is offline   Reply With Quote

3monkeys

Old 04-12-2014, 12:23 PM

That's great. Thanks for sharing!
3monkeys is offline   Reply With Quote

Mishellee99

Hilarious, thanks for sharing :)
Old 04-12-2014, 12:32 PM

I thought this was video was so funny and so true. I'm a math teacher and completely agree with everything that he said. Common Core seems like it's going to hurt our students more than help them. Plus, as teachers I think it's really going to change the way we approach teaching.
Mishellee99 is offline   Reply With Quote

hand

Old 04-12-2014, 01:22 PM

This is great! Thanks for sharing!

hand is online now   Reply With Quote

Rusty's Mom

I love him even more now :)
Old 04-12-2014, 01:50 PM

I have been a fan of The Colbert Report for years. He is so right on this topic! I teach third grade and students need to learn how to do the math problems without the stress of CONSTANT testing AND expectations that are not developmentally appropriate.
Rusty's Mom is offline   Reply With Quote

WIBadgerFan

Video
Old 04-12-2014, 02:14 PM

A teacher friend posted it on Facebook and I thought it was really funny and true.
WIBadgerFan is offline   Reply With Quote

funkster

Old 04-12-2014, 02:19 PM

The common core standards since they have been revised pose no real problem. The real problem is that the standardized testing changes the focus from what is best for the child to what will give us the best test scores.