First Year Teacher...OVERWHELMED is an understatement!!! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The VENT

First Year Teacher...OVERWHELMED is an understatement!!!

>

PrimaryTeach8

First Year Teacher...OVERWHELMED is an understatement!!!
Old 06-11-2019, 12:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hey everyone! This will be my first year teacher. I LOVE the primary grades, especially 1st grade. But it's June and I had nothing lined up and didn't want to sub anymore so I took a 4th grade position I was offered. Accepting this job pays for me to afford to get my Master's (and they pay for some of it) It also gets me teaching experience. None of the good schools in my area will hire me because I have no experience. Thinking of those cute little first graders is gonna hopefully get me through this. I did my student teaching in 4th grade and it was horrible! I can't relate to 4th graders at all. I'm very overwhelmed and stressed! I need some tips. First off, can you have a theme in your classroom in 4th grade? Should you have a theme or will they laugh at it?