Smart Classroom Management (and Whole Brain Teaching) - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

BusyBoard

Smart Classroom Management (and Whole Brain Teaching)

>

msj5ny

Smart Classroom Management (and Whole Brain Teaching)
Old 08-01-2011, 07:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I wish I could remember the poster who mentioned Smart Classroom Management a few days ago so I could thank her. I was all set to read up on Whole Brain Teaching but I've been reading the classroom management articles on smartclassroommanagement.com and they make so much sense. My favorite article (the one that hooked me) "Why a Letter Home is an Effective Consequence".

My brain is racing trying to find ways to integrate WBT (there are parts that I've been dying to do for a few years now) with his advice.

I'm trying to decide whether or not I have time for one more book this summer before buying his. Anyone else familiar with Michael Linsin's ideas?

msj5ny is offline   Reply With Quote

phoenixsmom

Thanks
Old 08-01-2011, 07:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

THe classroom management site seems interesting. I have found myself reading for a while
phoenixsmom is offline   Reply With Quote

chocaholic

me too
Old 08-01-2011, 08:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

and I've used Whole Brain Teaching a bit too.
Here's what I'm thinking of doing this year (in MS 6th, BTW):

I'm using the rules from Smart- and the consequences, too. I'll also use the No-go bathroom policy, the Homework Policy and the Bullying strategies. They make total sense to me- none of this working on rules together so they can "own" them...been there, done that and it is never effective and wastes so much time. Smart rules are basic and cover everything.

From WBT- I will use a lot of the procedural stuff such as:
Class-Yes
OK-Teach
Lines
Papers
Open you book to page...
It's cool
Mighty Groan
Etc.