Help

BusyBoard

First Year Teacher Quitting 2 weeks in

>

SadDramaTeach

First Year Teacher Quitting 2 weeks in
Old 08-13-2018, 09:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I just got hired on as a drama teacher for grades 5-12 at a local charter school. I have had lots of classroom experience before and instructional roles, plus teaching college, but it's my first year in a formal teaching role. I was very excited because the students at my school are supposed to be advanced and I believe I was hired on because I have a Masters from an elite institution.

But two weeks in I have already decided to quit. I thought I was signing on for a high school teaching job with a few middle school classes thrown in, but I have 264 (yes, TWO HUNDRED AND SIXTY FOUR) students spread across 9 classes, about 25 of which are actually high school students. 180 of them are 5th grade (which no one told me I'd have that many). The kids are driving me nuts, my classroom management is total garbage, and I've had no time to prepared and keep coming to class totally floundering, and just getting walked all over.

The money is good, and I actually have a supportive administration, but all everyone says is "it will get better," "I see a lot of promise in you" etc. but no one is really addressing the fact that I have twice as many students as anyone else in the school, and worse, because I teach drama, it's clear to me that everyone just views my class as a place to goof off.