BusyBoard

kindergarten supplies

>

calumetteach

kindergarten supplies
Old 08-19-2018, 06:30 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello, all

This is my first year as a kindergarten teacher. I am wondering a couple of things:

1. What do you do regarding supplies (pencils crayons, papers) Do they have individual drawers, do you have community supplies? I'm not sure how to go about it.

2. I have a kidney table, a round table and a low rectangular table as well as the small tables for kids to sit at. With space at a premium I'm thinking about getting rid of one. How many tables do you have and what are they used for?

3. If you don't mind sharing, what are some of the things you do the first few days of school.

Thanks so much for your help. I know I'll have more questions in the future.

calumetteach is offline   Reply With Quote

suzyteach

Old 08-19-2018, 12:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Welcome to Kindergarten! I hope you love it.

I do community supplies. I don't want them to have to store/keep track of their things. I have 4 tables where kids sit, and each table group has two baskets with crayons, pencils, and a pink pearl eraser to share (usually 6 kids per table, so 3 kids sharing one big eraser, plus the one on their pencils).

I store glue sticks and scissors in baskets that I keep in a drawer, and have one kid (rotates each week) be the table leader for their group get the scissors/glue basket when we do something that needs them. Anyone can get scissors or glue at choosing time if they want to use them. Each table has a scissors/glue basket assigned to them.

I keep watercolor paints in a big tub, and bring them out when we do a project with watercolors.

I keep markers in another kid-accessible tub, and kids can use them at choosing or if we're doing something that requires markers.