Help

Third Grade

Already April...

>

SpecialK06

Already April...
Old 04-07-2012, 07:12 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year with my own classroom. I feel like all year I have been treading against the water- until the past month or so. Somehow it just feels like things "clicked". I seriously wonder what I spent so much time on earlier this year- things that didn't matter that took up time. I just found my "groove" and know my students really well to plan purposefully.

Now I'm getting a little sad. By the time we finish state testing, April will be over- and May is just tons of field trips, wrap up, etc. Where did the year go? It makes me sad to think of the relationship I built with students, and my knowledge of them so I can teach to them- being gone. Sigh. I suppose this is the first year teacher in me talking, for sure..

Tell me about your first year.. Did you feel like all the sudden you just figured things out, only to be sad that you had no time left with them???

SpecialK06 is offline   Reply With Quote

MiamiEm324

Absolutely
Old 04-07-2012, 09:06 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Absolutely! But the good news is a few months later another great group of kids walks in and you do it all over again : )
MiamiEm324 is offline   Reply With Quote

tangolily

You're doing well to have found your groove..
Old 04-07-2012, 10:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

...and you'll probably feel the same way each year, too! The only time I didn't feel that way was the year I taught the same kids I had when they were in 1st grade and they moved up to 3rd grade. Wonderful to feel we already knew each other and I had a heads up on who was likely to need what. It's just not the same getting that information from another teacher as it is knowing the kids yourself.
tangolily is offline   Reply With Quote

SpecialK06

Old 04-07-2012, 01:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4