Special Education

Assessment clarification

>

Confuseddd

Confuseddd

Assessment clarification
Old 08-16-2012, 08:33 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This year I will be doing my first ever 3 year eval on a student and I was hoping for a little clarification on the process. I only need to evaluate the areas that were found to be affected by the disability right? So if the student was found not to need math services then I would t have to give, say, the KeyMath? Do you have to use the same instrument that was used for the initial? For example, if the WJ III was used but I like the Wiat, can I give that instead or do all of the subtests have to be the same for comparison? Also how do you determine what subtests you give? Do you always give the core? Last question (I promise): if you are giving the same test as three yrs before, do you have to use a different form (like form b instead of A) or has enough time passed that you can give the same form? Sorry for all the questions. I am new to this and there do not seem to be clear policies in my district on this stuff! Plus we are currently without a psychologist to answer some of these for me.

rwinters

Assessment
Old 08-16-2012, 10:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Here's what I do. I pull the students current Body of Evidence and look at where the area of need is. I use this information plus the data I've collected to determine what areas I need to do testing. If I'm need percentile scores than I may give a WJ but only in the area(s) of concern. I will only test either formal/informal in the area(s) of needs not any where else. So with the WJ, if the concern is reading than I will do just the reading; and the same for any other need. I don't do the whole thing.

Hope this helps
rwinters is offline   Reply With Quote

spedkidsrock

Old 08-17-2012, 01:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3