Help

Special Education

I'm so frustrated!!!!!!

>

Gianemi

I'm so frustrated!!!!!!
Old 10-09-2015, 05:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year teaching and they put me in a resource room, by myself, with 2nd and 3rd graders. Some of them are bigger than me and are 10, 11, and 12 years old. This is my third week on the job and they are out of control, especially 2 or 3 who are always fighting to each other and calling themselves names. I've tried to be tough, but I realize they just don't care about what I tell them and keep talking and doing whatever they want. I feel overwhelmed with all this trying to teach two different grades at the same time (which I've never done before), and with all the paperwork and requirements the school have. I feel like a failure and that I studied all these years for nothing, cause now I realized I can't work with this type of kids. I've always prefer working with the little ones, and when they told me 2nd and 3rd I didn't think it was too bad, but now I feel I can't do this anymore and sometimes I wish I'd get fired or get sick or something to have an excuse and get out of there! On top of that, those kids are in K level in reading and math and they can't even read and write. When I give them a quiz or test I follow what's on their IEP and I repeat the questions, give them extra time, etc, and they still get Fs. However, I spoke to their previous teacher and she said they never failed with her, but had A, B, and Cs, how come???? The principal met with the new teachers today and said we got to call the parents and document if they are failing, but do I have to do that every week? I guess I'll be calling all of their parents every day to notify them! I called the department of education and asked what would happen if I leave the job and they said I'd have to be out unemployed from 6 months to one year. OMG, what do I do? I'm desperate!!!

Gianemi is offline   Reply With Quote

kinderlake

Old 10-09-2015, 05:14 PM