Third Grade

Help! Please! Teacher starting late...

>

mrsrodriguez

Help! Please! Teacher starting late...
Old 09-06-2016, 04:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hey fellow third grade teachers!

I have been a teacher for over four years but was out of the classroom to raise my son for the last three years. I am getting back into the classroom as a third grade teacher. I have only taught 4th for three years and kindergarten for one. I will be starting next Monday, which will be the beginning of the 4th week for my third grade students. Their teacher left on the second day and they have had subs.

I will be teaching all subjects. Can someone tell me how you have your daily schedule lined up? Homework policies? Classroom management ideas? I saw some people have used "classdojo?" many posts were years ago about this. Do you still use it or not? Also, since I do not have the curriculum can someone tell me what levels the children are on in reading and math?

Yes, I have read previous posts on this subject matter but it's so much to go through. I thought I would just ask "all of the above" again!

mrsrodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote

Ally

Old 09-06-2016, 06:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hello and welcome to the grade 3 board!

I will be teaching all subjects. Can someone tell me how you have your daily schedule lined up?

This might be specific to your District...like how many minutes you have to allot to each subject. My District is not over regimented about instructional minutes so teachers have some leeway.

I generally have independent reading or catch up first thing..then a class meeting then literacy til recess. After recess, a school wide Run Club then math then lunch. Then independent reading and either art, gym, science, socials depending on the day. This is a rough sketch...my actual routine varies slightly (time wise especially) each day.

Homework policies?