The VENT

Never Let Them See You Sweat!

>

fedupaz

fedupaz

Never Let Them See You Sweat!
Old 02-02-2017, 09:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a class that is absolutely horrible! I am not the healthiest person in the world and not as spry as I once was. That aside, I have the kind of class that sees any weakness as an opportunity and takes full advantage of it! I am a 12 year veteran teacher so I am not a newbie. I have held strong and stuck to my guns. However, the other day their behavior was so horrible that I almost broke down and cried. This is the class that drove several teachers into retirement! My question is, do you let them see you cry? Do you tell them how their poor behavior choices keep you up at night? Do you tell them that the stress of "trying" to teach them is so stressful that it might be making yoyr condition worse?

I know I am not the only person out there that has or has had this "class" and I'm curious what others have done.

amiga13

Old 02-02-2017, 09:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

No, I don't show/tell students all that. The worse they are, the more professional I am. I do try to make lessons as involving and engaging as possible because my goal is to make learning so all-consuming that behavior is not an issue. Good luck!
amiga13 is online now   Reply With Quote

ElizabethJoy

Old 02-02-2017, 09:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I would worry that if they are that uncaring and disrespectful, they might see that they made you cry and wear it like a badge of honor. I can remember being in a class like that, and when we made one poor teacher cry, some kids were just so proud of themselves!

Quote:
Do you tell them how their poor behavior choices keep you up at night?
I might tell them this though, in a "I care about you guys and I worry about your future" kind of way.

I'm sorry they are treating you badly, and I hope your health improves.
ElizabethJoy is offline   Reply With Quote

SwissTeacher2

Old 02-03-2017, 03:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4