The VENT

Sad "Aha" Moment

>

wearywasted1

wearywasted1

Sad "Aha" Moment
Old 04-25-2019, 11:05 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Today, my colleagues and I were discussing our building's trend toward permissiveness. My colleague was bemoaning the administration's idea that discipline expectations are outdated. Administrator asked my colleague, "Why do students have to raise their hands? Adults don't." "Why do we ask students not to talk in the hall, teachers do?"

After our discussion and time to reflect my aha moment was that we've gone back to the outdated ideas that children are small adults. But this time, we are expecting students to have adult privileges and use them appropriately. The trouble is they do not have the same self-control and discipline that adults have because they've never had to learn them. Now, teachers are scorned for trying to teach those skills.

I think this trend will be very harmful to students.

I am a veteran teacher. I am not entrenched in my ways. I am open to trying new ideas and methods. I don't think things should stay the same just because they've always been that way. However, I have also been around long enough to know that many more trendy ideas end up being a problem than a help.

Heretostay124

Heretostay124

Old 04-25-2019, 06:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm having issues with the kids raising their hands. I wonder if you and I work in the same school. It would be a crying shame if this was discussed behind my back.

Raising one's hand is the prelude of learning how to take turns and be civil in society. It begins in the classroom at a young age with the simple act of raising their hands. As adults, we take turns all the time, wait patiently in line until we are taken care off all the time! I even raise my hands in certain situations.

This is another trend to blame the teacher for everything. Off course, we are going to take it.

Kyteachmath

I agree with you wearywasted1
Old 04-25-2019, 06:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3