BusyBoard

Self-Care Tips, Please!

>

Guest1234

Guest1234

Self-Care Tips, Please!
Old 07-22-2020, 05:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a second year teacher who hasn't yet developed a set of self-care strategies that come with experience. The pandemic adds another layer to this to my anxiety about the school year coming up, despite my strategy of not speculating and using the time to rest up. I am asking for a list of things that work for you in terms of self-care in general. I am super reflective and learn from others' stories all the time. I appreciate any responses and many thank yous in advance. Also, is there anything that your school or team has done to help promote self-care?

klarabelle

I am retired but.....
Old 07-22-2020, 07:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I remember my first VP suggested that you not work long after school. He told me he would come in 45mins. to an hour before school started. His thought was you don't have to work long, just work smart. I wasn't an organized person so I always stayed late and came in early, but then I came to realize I really didn't need to come in too early/stay late to get my work done.

I would give myself a weekend free at least once a month if not every week.

Good luck as you continue your teaching journey.
klarabelle is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 07-22-2020, 08:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

So some of these things are things I do now and some Iíve done in the past and wish I started again.

1) set a timer for when you want to leave and LEAVE when it goes off even if youíre not done because youíll never be done
2) drink lots of water
3) exercise, even if itís just a short walk after school
4) splurge on yourself now and then; a mani and pedi, a massage, new clothes, whatever. Do something for you once a month or so.
5) make time for friends. Itís going to be really easy to hole up and be too tired to go out, but go out.