Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

Yep, I'm guilty...

>

melonjar

Yep, I'm guilty...
Old 08-13-2013, 09:14 PM

I'm a teacher and did a horrible job of keeping my own child reading every day over the summer. I know I should have done a better job. I see how it can be difficult for parents because life can get busy (and fun). I did not make it a priority and I wish I had. She only read occasionally on her own, but my DH or I read TO her every night. So I guess at least she heard stories. She didn't write or practice math facts either. Sigh. I hope she didn't slide too far behind. I didn't make it a priority and I admit it.

melonjar is offline   Reply With Quote

TeachNut

Old 08-13-2013, 10:12 PM

I am in the same club as you! I suck but we had a GREAT summer
TeachNut is offline   Reply With Quote

3rdgradequeen

reading
Old 08-13-2013, 11:53 PM

I didn't either. School starts in a couple weeks and I am trying to get her in the habit of reading a chapter before bed, but it's hard. I'm lad I'm not the only one...
3rdgradequeen is offline   Reply With Quote

tammynj

Old 08-14-2013, 02:20 AM

I teach Lang. Arts and am a voracious reader, but despite my good efforts when my DS was younger, he is not a reader. It bums me out. He is going to college soon and has yet to finish the assigned summer reading. I read to him all the time, we were frequent library patrons (we even won "library family of the year" when he was like, 8) and we went to the book store to buy books that he liked. But now, he only reads if he has to. I am hoping that changes as he gets older. He grew up in a home that is full of books...

It's hard to make them read when they don't want to. But as a middle school LA teacher, I can absolutely tell (by the writing I have them do for me the first few days of school) which kids read and which kids do not. The readers have a much more sophisticated style of writing. But I agree, it is hard to make them read when they do not want to.