Help

BusyBoard

Bathroom Policies

>

ggcoffeex3

Bathroom Policies
Old 11-26-2014, 06:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher and I teach 4th grade. From the beginning of the year until last Thursday my students signed out on a time sheet if they needed to use the bathroom. The rule was supposed to be one girl and one boy at a time unless it was an emergency and someone was already in the bathroom. However, after three incidents in one week of another teacher telling me that my students were playing tag in the hallway, looking at a diary in the bathroom, being so noisy they can't test, etc.(Even with only one boy and one girl out) so I changed my policy. I had also had trouble with a few students leaving the room without signing out so they would leave multiple times a day (4+). Now I've been doing two whole-class bathroom breaks per day (at 10:30 and 1:30 - takes wayyy too long and sometimes run into other classes) and they can go before 9:00am and after 3:00pm. I figure that's four times per day and the same amount of times I can go to the bathroom each day. If they go outside of that time, they have to ask permission and then clip down (for not using their time wisely and going at the breaks). If they leave the classroom without my permission they clip down automatically to orange and fill out a reflection sheet. I've only done this for about a week and I really don't like it. I feel like it punishes too many kids who were already doing their job before and I don't like taking that many whole-class bathroom breaks because it takes too much of our learning time! I hate to change my policy again so soon, but I would much rather they go when they need to and I can trust them. A few of the students who were abusing the policy are the kind who have parents that I can never get in touch with so calling parents won't help. Any suggestions on how to start fresh with the bathroom policy and what works for you? Do you take whole-class bathroom breaks in up