Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

Gender Reveals

>

Claire

Gender Reveals
Old 07-27-2019, 04:31 PM

That wasn't a thing when I had my 18 and 14 year old. I'm kind of glad. I'm not a big production kind of gal. With both of mine I just wanted healthy. I guess I was "lucky" to get one of each.

BUT...I've seen at least two videos recently of people I know doing their gender reveals where their other child pouts when it is not the gender they wanted. I'm talking kids 9+ and old enough to know better. That just irks me. I'm not sure why.

ETA: I'm not against the party itself. I dont want to insult anyone. I hate the older kids pouting and throwing a tantrum when the gender is not what they want.

Claire is offline   Reply With Quote

anonymouse

Gender reveals gone wrong
Old 07-27-2019, 04:37 PM

I saw this and thought it was the stupidest thing possible :
https://edition.cnn.com/2019/07/09/a...ntl/index.html

until I saw this:
https://edition.cnn.com/2018/11/27/u...rnd/index.html
anonymouse is offline   Reply With Quote

travelingfar

Gender Reveals
Old 07-27-2019, 04:44 PM

Count me in as one who does not care for gender reveals.
travelingfar is online now   Reply With Quote

PEPteach

Old 07-27-2019, 04:53 PM

Quote:
I know doing their gender reveals where their other child pouts when it is not the gender they wanted. I'm talking kids 9+ and old enough to know better. That just irks me. I'm not sure why.
Yes, and what irks me is it is posted because people think it is funny/cute. It's one thing if it happens, but then to encourage it and think it's funny is quite irritating.

I'm going to my friend's sprinkle. I'm not against those either, but when I went to the registry, it is all a bunch of frivolous things. I don't mind giving her clothes, diapers, necessities (which I will end up doing), but it makes it more into a gift grab to only register for all this fluffy stuff.
PEPteach is offline   Reply With Quote

GraceKrispy