Help

Middle School/Jr High (6-8)

Pencil Sharpening Procedure

>

itz2bad

Pencil Sharpening Procedure
Old 08-07-2010, 08:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year teaching in a middle school setting. How do you handle pencil sharpening? Do you just let them use the sharpener as they need to? Or do you have a particular system? Thanks in advance!

itz2bad is offline   Reply With Quote

S.W.

Old 08-07-2010, 09:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I explain to my students that sharpening a pencil while someone (either myself or a student answering a question) is talking is essentially the same as standing up and yelling "LALALALALALA".

So if it's a time when they shouldn't be interrupting, they shouldn't be sharpening their pencil. Otherwise it's pretty much free game.
S.W. is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 08-08-2010, 09:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

They are allowed to sharpen during independent work time, test time, and before class begins.

They can't sharpen during direct instruction, group work, or independent reading time.
Ima Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote

ajmm115

yes
Old 08-08-2010, 10:20 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

. . . my rules exactly, but adding ONE PERSON AT A TIME. NO LINING UP. Otherwise it becomes a social gathering. They work it out.

Ditto throwing things in the trash. I roll up a piece of paper (and have them listen to the noise) and set it on my desk and ask if the world is going to come to an end if I don't throw it in the trash basket immediately. I swear there's a formula - the messier the backpack and/or binder is - the more desperate the student is to get to the trash can with ONE piece of paper to toss away!
ajmm115 is offline   Reply With Quote

itz2bad

Thanks
Old 08-08-2010, 10:37 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

Thank you all so much! I appreciate it!

itz2bad is offline   Reply With Quote

illinikt

very important!
Old 08-08-2010, 10:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #6