Special Education

new at preschool special ed

>

Audry

Audry

new at preschool special ed
Old 10-23-2005, 02:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am new at preschool level special ed. Even circle time seems to be very frustrating (ie. getting them to attend, sitting during circle time). The other teachers do not seem to have the same problems as I. I am worried that I am not cut out for this level. I used to teach older students. I love these kids, but I am worried I am not up to par with the rest of the teachers. What can I do to make sure that I am "doing as the Romans do?"

jcgy7

keep it short
Old 10-23-2005, 04:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

you're probably doing this already, but try to minimize the length of time you're asking them to attend and try to mix up circle with a combination of stand up and sit down songs/activities. Make sure your routine is very predictable and consistent. Keep your directions short and to the point. Don't ask questions unless it's really a choice. Make sure you're telling them AND showing them what you need them to do and not just telling them not to do stuff. Don't just say, "Sam, you need to stop that" when Sam's poking Johnny in the chest. Tell him, "Sam, it's time to sit criss-cross with your hands in your lap." If you have kids with language delays, keep your sentences even shorter and use picture or sign cues when possible. Think about whether or not your schedule might be contributing - are you asking them to sit right when they come in? When they're hungry? Etc. If they're on the young end of the preschool spectrum, you may not be able to expect that they'll all be able to sit and listen and participate at this point in the year. It will get better as long you stay consistent. Good luck!
jcgy7 is offline   Reply With Quote

mvance

fun at circle time
Old 10-24-2005, 06:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3