Inclusion in Texas question, please help. - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Special Education

Inclusion in Texas question, please help.

>

intheloonybin

Inclusion in Texas question, please help.
Old 06-01-2010, 02:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a math teacher at a 5th/6th grade campus in Texas and was just informed today that our special education teacher is only required to service our inclusion students 20 minutes a week. For some reason, I find that hard to believe. She does not have any resource classes. We have four classes with special education students. Some students test TAKS-A and some test TAKS-M, so they are mixed. She has been going in only on Mondays and we don't see her the rest of the week. Can anyone please direct me to a website that states this policy? I need clarification on 20 minutes minimum or maximum and 20 minutes per student or classes with special education students. For the record, I do have a son with asperger's that receives special education services and I am aware of some of the policies, just not all of them. Thanks in advance for any help!

intheloonybin is offline   Reply With Quote

kshaw

I don't have a website for you. . .
Old 06-01-2010, 03:45 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

but I am a new special ed. teacher, and my understanding is that the student must receive the services documented in their IEP. If the IEP says 20 min. per week, then that is all she is required to provide. I would assume that you are a member of the IEP team (as a gen. ed. teacher), so if you feel that the child is not being given the services necessary, you have the right to call an IEP meeting to discuss your concerns.
kshaw is offline   Reply With Quote

PrivateEyes

I find it hard to believe....
Old 06-01-2010, 03:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

It's almost impossible that you have special ed students who qualify for services, but all of them only to the degree of 20 minutes per week.