Help

Special Education

Probably won't finish the curriculum freaking out

>

ST13

Probably won't finish the curriculum freaking out
Old 06-02-2016, 05:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher and I'm just trying to keep my head above water at this point in the year.

Well, it looks like it's going to be a CLOSE call for us to finish the math curriculum this year. My time management was 100% off. It took me a month to figure out what specifically I was even supposed to teach. Plus, call me crazy but I did not move forward until I knew my kids understood the topic (looking a you long division and fractions) so basically I have been digging myself into a gigantic hole since September and I can't get out. We are a chapter away from finishing the math curriculum and there are two weeks before grades are due. I already got reprimanded from admin because my students did not pass the state test.

This isn't normal right? I should be reviewing like the gem Ed classes are? What if I don't finish ... Has this happened to anyone?

Freaking out

ST13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Miller

Old 06-03-2016, 04:30 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

what grade? I assume you're sped...resource? self-contained? mild/moderate?

reprimanded for students not passing test? whoa

I have tons of thoughts.

In my 13 years of teaching, only ONCE did I finish the entire curriculum and that was with a reg. ed class of half gifted students.

That sounds like a really hectic situation to work in.

If sped students can't pass a state test, perhaps they need to be screened for alternate assessments.
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote

ST13

Old 06-03-2016, 03:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I am like a resource room teacher but I also push in to certain classes.