Private School Teacher or Public School Substitute in Special Education? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Special Education

Private School Teacher or Public School Substitute in Special Education?

>

Jen93

Private School Teacher or Public School Substitute in Special Education?
Old 07-25-2016, 11:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello! This is my first time posting on this forum, so here is my current dilemma. I graduated in 2015 with certification in early childhood and special education. I really want to teach special education full time, but I have not been able to come across a job yet.

I spent this past year subbing in special education, and it looks like that would be my option for this coming year. However, it also looks like I could have the possibility to be a first grade teacher at a private school (which does not offer special education). Considering that my teaching goal is to go into special education in the near future, would it be better for me to substitute teach in public school districts again this year in special education classes to gain experience or to take the first grade teacher job at the private school? Which would help me more in the long run?
Thank you so much!

Jen93 is offline   Reply With Quote

tctrojan

Income
Old 07-25-2016, 05:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would continue to sub if youcan afford it. You may be able to pick up more sped. jobs that way.
tctrojan is offline   Reply With Quote

Haley23

Old 07-25-2016, 08:24 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3