Help

Special Education

First Year Autism Teacher - first week help

>

deekybee

First Year Autism Teacher - first week help
Old 08-06-2016, 07:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher and I have accepted a job in an Autism classroom for grades 3-5. I have experience working with students with Autism at the high school level, so I have some idea how I plan to structure my class. I am however completely stumped on what to do those first few days / weeks. Looking for some veteran's to share their tips

How do you teach practicing the routines?

Any good "getting to know you" activities?

What do you typically do on the first day of school in your Autism class?

Also, a friend of mine uses classdojo in her intermediate autism class. Anyone else have success with that? I only ask because it seems like it could be a good way to track behavior data.

Thanks everyone so much in advance. I am super nervous being a newb and all.

deekybee is offline   Reply With Quote

readandweep

Transitions
Old 08-07-2016, 08:33 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

The biggest thing for me is teaching new students how to follow the picture schedule and how to transition. I would also establish yourself as the one with the reinforcers and "fun" activities.

Do you know anything about your students?

I would start with the students who struggle the most with behavior and transitions, making sure they know exactly how you want to transition and what they should do.

Do you have aides? I usually have my aides be at the table/station the first couple weeks, working on puzzles, art, board games or tablets.

I'm the one walking the students through transitions and checking the schedule with them.

I then gradually work myself in at my stations and establish what it takes to earn the reinforcers.