Sunflower Room

All the way to Third?

>

Lodi 3rd

Lodi 3rd

All the way to Third?
Old 06-25-2006, 08:41 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm new to this idea but I think it's great!

I read Reading With Meaning as my professional read for the summer. I am frustrated more than ever.

I think all students should get this experience as their first introduction to reading. Which led to my first question: Is it necessary for the teacher to have a love of reading herself to get this message across to students? (our first grade teachers do not read for pleasure or professional growth unless forced)

I became more frustrated as I read on because my students are so far behind in their reading skills compared to the first graders in Miller's class. How can I get these skills to 3rd graders if I don't have the time? How can I not find the time? How do I do this for 3rd graders? Do I use the same titles and mini lessons?

Ideas welcome!!

D.

BookMuncher

my response
Old 06-25-2006, 05:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi Lodi! I replied to your questions when you asked them on the "Debbie Miller's Discussion's New Home" link. You can read it there... good luck to you!

dlynneteacher

Size of Library
Old 06-27-2006, 10:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3