I need help ASAP! Please Read!

>

Freaking Out

Freaking Out

I need help ASAP! Please Read!
Old 09-08-2010, 12:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello all,

I recently changed schools and the school that I am now in uses the Debbie Miller model for teaching Reading and Language arts. I read the "Reading with Meaning" and viewed the DVDs but am still confused. I am a relatively new teacher (less than 10 years in the field) and feel that I should be able to pick this up quickly...but I don't know where to start! I feel so confused! I am used to working with anthologies. I should also add that I am an intermediate teacher, so I am not sure how this is supposed to look with the older grades. As a new teacher to the building, I feel intimidated to ask too many questions because it sounds like I don't know what I am doing...but I almost feel like I don't! It is just so overwhelming! If you have any suggestions, lessons,...ANYTHING I would appreciate the input! Thanks so much!

littlepenny

Readers Workshop
Old 09-09-2010, 07:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It can seem overwhelming. OK...Have you read "Guiding Reading and Writers- Teaching Comprehension, Genre, and Content Literacy?" There is a chapter starting the school year with 15 crucial lessons that are amazing. It is great to start building a Readers Workshop. It aslo has great graphic organizers to get going and support ideas and strategies addressed in Debbie Miller. Honestly, have her book on your lap as you teach. Get sticky notes, chart paper, great picture books and go for it!

VAreader

Mosaic of Thought and Strategies That Work
Old 10-04-2010, 11:01 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3