Help

Sunflower Room

Dilemma - Lengthy

>

shantina

Dilemma - Lengthy
Old 03-17-2007, 03:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a 2nd grade teacher and I have been teaching for 7 years. During my graduate school courses, I was taught guided reading (the Fountas and Pinnel) way. I do believe in GR but for the past 2 years I have been reading RWM (Miller) and I am in love with it. I have been teaching the strategies during my read alouds and then reinforcing them in GR groups and during SSR (silent sustained reading). The problem is that I don't think the children are having enough independent reading time as it would be if they were in a "true" reader's workshop. I am required to to do GR the Fountas and Pinnel way per county requirements and I do see the benefits of this such as discussions around the same text, the sense of community when everyone is working on the topic, exposure to different genres of text that the kids may not have picked up before). My reading group levels range from a E to a P. But, I also definitely see the benefits of Reader's Workshop the Miller way. I'm just not sure how to incorporate the 2. The majority of my kids are great reading thinkers and I am very proud of the progress that they have made but I believe that they could go even further if I could figure out the balance. I've been trying for months but can't find the right fit. If you have any ideas or advice I would greatly appreciate it. If it helps, a schedule of my LA block is listed below.

10:40-11:00 Read Aloud/Comprehension Strategy Focus
11:00-11:25 GR group 1
11:25-11:50 GR group 2
(I have a co-teacher during this time who also pulls 2 reading groups.)
Lunch/Recess/Related Arts
1:40-2:00 SSR
2:00-2:20 Word Work
2:20-3:00 Writing

heather818

quick questions
Old 03-18-2007, 09:37 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hello, Shantina. I have also spent time on this same fence, and have landed mostly on the the Reading Workshop (Miller-like) side. I had a couple of questions...