Fourth Grade

lesson plans

>

mrszemog

lesson plans
Old 08-14-2011, 11:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi,
I'm new to fourth grade and am not sure what my lesson plans should include for the first week (3 days) of school.
Any suggestions?

mrszemog is offline   Reply With Quote

dolphin5

Welcome to 4th!
Old 08-14-2011, 12:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

The first 3 days of school I concentrate on getting to know you activities. I always read The Empty Pot to the kids and make our class constitution (the book shows the kids the rule I want ~honesty~and the rest of the rules we make up together). I have the students go to the library to check out reading books. I break them into groups and they pick a theme. Some kids make the theme posters while others draw the story titles. These are for our focus wall for the year. We also read the introduction part of the HM book.

I also read the kids How I Spent My Summer Vacation and have the kids write about their summer. This is the first piece to go on our writing board. The students also start work on their Bio Poems. I am sure there is much more, but that is all I can think of at the moment. Hope you have a great year. This is my second year teaching 4th grade and I love it.
dolphin5 is offline   Reply With Quote

bhewlettKin

First 3 day activities
Old 08-14-2011, 04:14 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I do a friends Venn diagram with my kids. Students are paired up and given a list of questions. EX: Do you have brothers and sisters, pets, favorite color, subject, etc. Students complete the Venn diagram and illustrate. Makes for a great display.
All About Me posters
If you teach Science.... Save Fred is a must! Check out my blog for details. http://4thgradefanatic.blogspot.com/...ving-fred.html

Alot of the first few days are routines and procedures practice. Boring but necessary. We do a lot of organization of folders and notebooks as well.