Help

The VENT

6 hrs/day lesson planning.....

>

faith729

6 hrs/day lesson planning.....
Old 08-26-2017, 07:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Lesson planning takes me forever. I think I overthink things. I try to plan out the details of each and every lesson. It has taken me 3 days, 6 hours a day, to plan out the first 5 days for just 2 of my 10 classes. What am I doing wrong?!?! I am brand new to my school so starting from scratch. I am trying to make a yearly curriculum map for all 180 days or at least a monthly one. Then trying to plan out my day-to-day plans for the first 10 days of school at least. Its hard bc I don't know the kids or the pacing bc of their age & need....jumped up from 2nd grade to middle school. This is taking much longer than I think it is supposed to & Im getting really discouraged

faith729 is offline   Reply With Quote

linda2671

I do that
Old 08-26-2017, 07:18 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

at the beginning of every year, and I've taught for 25 years. I want the first few days to be so perfect, I overthink it. Once I get to know the kids, I settle down and just scribble out my plans. The first couple of weeks are that way because we don't know what to expect the kids to respond to.
linda2671 is offline   Reply With Quote

tgbwc

Guides?
Old 08-26-2017, 10:40 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Does your school district not have pacing guides? Ours are very helpful and include lesson ideas.
tgbwc is offline   Reply With Quote

1956BD

Too long
Old 08-26-2017, 01:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I know you are exhausted. Sorry. But it is like that in the beginning especially if you are a perfectionist. You will get faster. Hang in there.
1956BD is offline   Reply With Quote

whipsnake

Old 08-26-2017, 01:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I'm fully on-board with Linda. I've been teaching as long and I let my plans come to me organically. It's why I still love teaching; otherwise, I would have burned out long ago.