The VENT

No Classroom, No motivation, want to GET OUT

>

GottaGogh

GottaGogh

No Classroom, No motivation, want to GET OUT
Old 09-27-2017, 02:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have become a statistic. I am a first year teacher and I 100% know I want to leave this profession. I started having doubts about teaching my senior year in college as well, but I decided to push through. I didn't know if I wanted a teacher job, but I snagged one anyway. Now I have a job I hate.

I have an hour commute every day. I am a traveling Art teacher...meaning I go between two k-6 Elementary schools and I have no classroom in either school. Half my free time is just getting my supplies ready and set up, since I have no space of my own. It's frustrating teaching without a classroom.

This is also a Title 1 urban school, and I feel like I am not the right type of teacher for these kids. Being a first year teacher Im not the best at having a clear discipline plan to begin with, but these are kids who NEED strong discipline. I'm normally a pretty zen person, but I have to spend everyday yelling I feel like. This is just not what I want to do. I don't want to drive an hour at 6 am everyday just to be called a "stupid ass ho" by an 11 year old.

I feel so fed up and it's only October. I have a nice support staff that I've gotten so many ideas from for ways I can improve my discipline, but to be honest...I just don't want this job. I haven't had an appetite since August, I always have a deep sense of dread whenever I think about work, and my anxiety is getting the best of me. How the hell am I supposed to get through the rest of the year?!

I'm sick of just "pushing though" these difficult feelings I have about teaching...to me it just seems I need to do something else. I WANT to do something else. I can't stand this job or these kids. I feel like I'm trapped for the year, but all I think about is quitting by Christmas.

Any advice as to what I should do? I'm desperate for answers.

elmo33